You Got To Work It

Hello everyone. How are you all doing?

In the past few days I have been seriously looking into potentially publishing a collection of my short stories as an ebook over in Amazon.

assorted title books collection
Photo by Marta Dzedyshko on Pexels.com

However, I have realized that I do not have that many short stories available!

Hmmm… This is a problem.

Here is what I have so far:

  1. Since it is a collection of short stories, I need to have a theme for the entire book. A hodgepodge of randomly packed stories would be a terrible idea. Perhaps something along the lines of fantasy, mystery and science fiction – things that I like, and have dabbled into actually writing?
  2. Do I publish it myself? Or find a publisher? This is probably one of the big things I have to make a decision on. If I will have to publish it myself, there are a lot of work I have to do. Formatting, cover design, the blurb – that’s just for the book itself. Then, there’s the marketing aspect – finding a way to get my book in my reader’s face so they would at least think about buying it. Should I opt to find a publisher, well, that’s another batch of questions and researching that I must do, and both involves different pros and cons.
  3. I need more stories. Yeah, I mentioned it already. Frankly, I was disappointed in myself. And I dare call myself a writer? I barely have any completed story under my belt. Hahaha…
  4. Do I have what it takes? This is probably that nagging question in my head that is either trying to pull me down or push me onward. It is making me question both my skill as a writer, and my general worth as a person. I mean, I don’t know… I’m a nobody who’s typing away on a computer somewhere. Why would people want t

Obviously, I have a lot of work to do. However, having a goal in mind somehow made all the work that I will be doing, and all the writing that I have to do seem to be worth the effort.

I have found that having an end goal in mind, an achievement to reach, these things help with the grind and work that one must do.

Aside from the writing that I must be doing, I have also been enlisted by my wife to be her producer for her vlog. She seemed more determined to succeed, therefore I have more work! Hahaha… So far I am the cameraman, the scriptwriter, the director, the sound director, the editor, and have also found myself to be helping with the marketing. My wife is inexperienced with using various platforms of social media to help promote her work. On the bright side, there has been an improvement. We gained two new subscribers in the span of two weeks! That seems significant for us, so.. yay!

Anway, back to being a professional writer…

What are your experiences (if any), with regards to getting your work published? Was it a good, or a terrible experience?

If you found my content useful or interesting, please subscribe to my blog, or even share my works to others. It would be a great help in growing my blog, and I would really appreciate it. If you wish to support me in anyway, please consider checking out my Ko-Fi page, or my Patreon Page..

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

That is all for now, have a nice day!

Author: jomz

Web Designer and Developer, Graphic Artist. Writer.

Leave a comment