Graphics, Arts and More

A Homage to Hellsing?

I’ve been reading Hellsing, and am now close to finishing the manga series. It’s a great story about vampires.

Well, anyway, that isn’t what this post is about.

I guess I’m not too keen on noticing authors, eh? I mean, just when I’m about to finish the series, I just noticed that the author of Hellsing is Hirano Kouta.

Ok, I can see you scratching your heads… So what?

Well, I have only recently watched and read Hellsing, even though it can now be considered a classic.  So, I’m not too familiar with the author yet.

Now, I’ve watched and read High School of the Dead some time ago, and I really have enjoyed the development of the gun otaku character Hirano Kohta.

Yes.  I’ve somehow just realized that there might be a connection between the two.  I quickly jumped to search engines to confirm this, and indeed, a lot have noticed this.  Although I have not found any conclusive statement of a homage of sort… perhaps this image, taken from this post from Digfest, can shed some light:

They look similar, don’t they? Perhaps a time-jump or a few more chapters/episodes, when the High School of the Dead character is more rugged, he’ll grow a goatee?

Yeah…

Well, it ain’t a farfetched idea that the authors of High School of the Dead, Daisuke Satou and Shouji Satou were influenced by Hellsing.  Hey, they’re in a somewhat similar genre, right?

Well, what do you think?

Leave a Reply

